Global Links

Our Faculty

Rutgers University–New Brunswick faculty have a passion for discovery, have records of high scholarly achievement, and care deeply about the undergraduate and graduate students they teach, mentor, and advise. Their work, their research, their teaching, their publications, and their scholarly influence make Rutgers–New Brunswick an academic tour de force.

World's Best Philosophy Faculty

The top three philosophy faculties in the English-speaking world are found at NYU, Oxford, and Rutgers University–New Brunswick.

New Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Congratulations to Rutgers scientists Eva Andrei, Dennis Kent, and Alexander Zamolodchikov on their election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Learn more.

The National Academies

Rutgers University–New Brunswick’s 35 faculty who are members of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine are among America’s top experts on critical national issues. These same faculty are accessible professors who teach classes, nurture undergraduate researchers, and mentor graduate students. Learn more.

Watch Faculty Interviews on YouTube

The Office of Instructional and Research Technology brings you interviews with various Rutgers faculty. Faculty discuss their involvement in research through the university. Presented in HD video. Learn more.

The Game-Changers

Among current Rutgers University–New Brunswick faculty are men and women who have been acknowledged as true pioneers who change what we know and think about the world. Here are just a few of the game-changers.

  • Charlotte Bunch: White House Eleanor Roosevelt Award for Human Rights
  • Richard H. Frenkiel: National Medal of Technology and National Academy of Engineering Charles Stark Draper Prize
  • Frederick Grassle: Japan Prize and Franklin Institute Benjamin Franklin Medal in Earth and Environmental Science
  • Joachim Messing: Wolf Prize in Agriculture
  • Fred Roberts: National Science Foundation Science and Technology Centers Pioneer Award
  • Endre Szemerédi: Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters Abel Prize Laureate
  • Wise Young: TIME magazine, America’s Best; Esquire magazine, Best and Brightest

Faculty Diversity

Several universitywide initiatives seek to increase the diversity of faculty at Rutgers.


Valuing Great Teaching

Valuing Great Teaching

The transmission of knowledge to the next generation is the most important objective of any institution of higher learning, and in this enterprise, nothing can top the irrepressible enthusiasm of a great teacher. Here is a sampling of Rutgers University–New Brunswick faculty who were recognized for their teaching excellence.

“For me, good teaching—the ability to excite students about the material and provoke them to go beyond classroom presentations, and to think and read beyond the syllabus—is central to the undergraduate’s experience of a research university.”

Barry Qualls, Professor of English

Watch a video featuring cognitive scientists Rochel Gelman—a National Academy of Sciences member—and Kimberly Brenneman, whose Preschool Pathways to Science research is behind the hit PBS children’s program Sid the Science Kid.

Celebrated Achievements

Rutgers University–New Brunswick faculty win many distinguished awards. They have been elected to the most prestigious scholarly societies and are sought-after advisers to governments, businesses, nonprofit organizations and agencies, communities, and the public in New Jersey, the nation, and around the globe. Here is a small sampling of distinguished faculty and their honors.

Respected by Their Peers

When they are not teaching, conducting research, or writing grants and papers, Rutgers–New Brunswick faculty are out among their peers, sharing their insights, discoveries, and talents with the world as conference chairs, keynote speakers, journal editors, and more. The following is a small sampling of Rutgers–New Brunswick professors making their marks in their disciplines.

  • Laura Ahearn, School of Arts and Sciences, Anthropology
    • Laura Ahearn is general editor of the Oxford University Press “Studies in the Anthropology of Language” Series and is on the editorial board of the journal American Anthropologist.
  • Abena Busia, School of Arts and Sciences, Women's and
    Gender Studies

    • Abena Busia served as associate editor for two volumes of Women Writing Africa, a four-volume series completed over 20 years, which brings African women's voices to life.
  • Jeff Friedman, Mason Gross School of the Arts, Dance
    • Jeff Friedman presented "Oral History and Dance: Reading Through Heidegger, Patochka, and Ricoeur" at the Performance Philosophy Conference at the University of Surrey in the United Kingdom in April 2013.
  • Mona Lena Krook, School of Arts and Sciences, Political Science
    • Mona Lena Krook served as a consultant to the Supreme Federal Electoral Court and Mexico City District Electoral Court and was a keynote speaker at a conference for judges and court staff in celebration of the anniversary of women’s right to vote in Mexico in October 2012.
  • Robin Leichenko, School of Arts and Sciences, Geography
    • Robin Leichenko was selected to serve as vice chair (2013–2014) and future chair (2015–16) of the Economic Geography Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers.
  • Joan Marter, School of Arts and Sciences, Art History
  • Dipak Sarkar, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences,
    Animal Sciences
    • “Transgenerational Epigenetic Effects of Fetal Alcohol on the Hypothalamic Proopiomelanocortin Gene,” published by the lab of Dipak Sarkar, was ranked among the top 15 articles in the field of biological psychiatry in 2012 by the Society of Biological Psychiatry. Authors of the paper include Dmitry Govorko, Rola A. Bekdash, Changqing Zhang, and Dipak Sarkar, who also directs the Endocrine Research Program at Rutgers.
  • Mario Szegedy, School of Arts and Sciences, Computer Science
    • Mario Szegedy gave the opening lecture at the 8th International Symposium on Computer Science in Russia (CSR 2013).
  • Charles Weibel, School of Arts and Sciences, Mathematics